Plunder for the Planet

The effects of Blackfish!

I’ve been to Sea World many times.  Back in 2007 / 2008 we had an annual pass.  We went often, what an amazing thing to see all of these huge creatures up close.  My kids did the “Dolphin Interaction” program, they were in the water with the dolphins, learning the commands and getting the dolphins to respond.  It was grossly expensive, as was the dvd that I had to buy to have pictures from the events of the day.  My mom, aunt and I did the “Beluga Interaction” program.  We toured the facility and saw the huge walrus in the back, through a jail-like door.  It kind of made me sad, but I was excited to be moments away from the belugas.  We put on our wet suits and the next thing you know we were in the water with Beluga whales!  Wow.  It was awesome.

I watched Blackfish.  I am ashamed of myself.  That isn’t to say that I didn’t feel sorry for the animals at the time, because I did.  I always felt sorry for the big Orca’s in such a small tank, wondering if they missed the open ocean.  Of course they do.

We gave SeaWorld over $1500 that day between the kids and my family programs.

If you watch Blackfish, you know right away that it is one-sided.  You are watching the story of how Orca’s came to be in captivity.   Many people don’t want to watch Blackfish.  I understand.  It’s easy to turn away from the carnage and just pretend it will fix itself.  It won’t.  As a human being on this planet, it is MY responsibility to look at what is going on.  If it isn’t right, it needs to be changed.  We can’t keep looking away.

Here’s the trailer, its available on Netflix or iTunes…  or you can buy the DVD.   Watch Blackfish… develop an opinion…  Participate in your planet.


That being said.  Sea World felt attacked, and it should.  Sea World is definitely under attack.  They’ve responded with full-page ads in some local newspapers.  To read the response, CLICK HERE

If you feel moved to learn more, please do so.   If you feel moved to do something, please do so.   If you have something to say, please do so.

Amy Costanzo said something –  Here is what she had to say in response to Sea World’s statement:  CLICK HERE

Please join us in taking a pledge not to buy a ticket to marine parks with captive dolphins and whales and to share this important message with family, friends and colleagues.  Together we can persuade SeaWorld and other marine circuses that it’s time to stop keeping orcas in captivity.

THANK YOU! TAKETHEPLEDGE

“I pledge not to buy a ticket to marine parks with captive dolphins and whales and to share this important message with family, friends and colleagues.”

Signed,

About Plunder for the Planet

We created this mess. It's time to take responsibility for our actions. Let's step it up.

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on January 9, 2014 by in Conservation, Ocean, Stupid HUMANS!, You can help! and tagged , , .